Trying something new

Just before christmas I started trying a few new things. The first was soapmaking. I just ordered a melt-and-pour kit, but to be honest I did not really like it, altho making my own soap sounds so tempting. Oh well.
I also tried to make a bit of jewellery. After playing round for a while I managed some nice things I’m quite happy with:
My friend from work is a Harley-girl, yes she has her own bike and is not just a passenger. Just before Christmas she started to knit and she knitted herself a stripey Harley Davidson Sweater (yeah, normal people start with a scarf or something easy like that, but it came out quite well indeed), so I decided to make her something Harley-related too. I found those perfect guitar picks in a music shop and turned them into some nice earrings. With wings of course.

guitarpick earrings for a Harley Girl

I’m immensely proud how they came out, I really love them. And I quite enjoyed making them, too. Too bad I have stretched earholes, so I cannot really wear any nice fine earrings…

I also make a bracelet for myself. I got the instructions from the beginners book making wire jewellery and more by Linda Chandler and Christine Ritchey. It was fairly easy to make. You can probably see that I did not use Sterling silver wire, the copper core shows through at the ends and where I hammered a bit too much, but you can hardly notice it when it’s on.

hammered bracelet

One response to “Trying something new

  1. TwinkeeFactory

    Those are so rad! What an awesome idea.

Leave a Reply

