Beaded Leather Wrap Bracelet

I found some nice pictures of those Chan Luu style bracelets on the net. They don’t seem to be very popular in the UK yet by the looks of it. You can get some tho, and the prices are extortionate.

Chan Luu Ruby Zoisite on laneknight.com

My favourite one is this here, you can buy it here if you like. For as little as 262 pounds. 262 pounds my butt! The Ruby Zoisite they use is very pretty, I do like the little bits of pink in it, and it goes lovely with the pink/purple leather strap. Now I do admit that my knowledge about gemstones and precious and semiprecious and AAA graded or just A graded and what not is not too great, so I cannot judge if this piece is worth the price. But I know just too damn well that there is no way that I’d spend more than a tenner on a Beaded Leather Wrap Bracelet like this.

Here is an awesome tutorial on how to make them, including video clips, detailed explanations and hints and tips.  Another fantastic Video Tutorial is here.
It seems to be easy enough, round the leather, through the bead, round the leather, back through the bead, round the leather and to the next bead. Quick shopping trip on ebay and I ended up with 2 16 inch strands of pretty green moss agate beads, 4mm round, 3 meters of brown leather cord, 1mm diameter, brown nylon thread, and silver buttons. All under a tenner.

And then I started beading.
It took me about 2.5hrs to get a 5 wrap bracelet, it was quite straight froward to do. My wrists are quite thin, so I started with 1.80 meters of leather cord and twice as much thread, the thread taken double. The thread was long enough to get me about halfway through it, so I had to knot some together (mental note for the next time: use longer thread). And I noticed that the whole bracelet started bending when the loop around the leather cord (the one loop that goes BACK through the bead) is not at the correct height. That makes the bead lie in a slight angle and it pulls the leather cord to the side.

And this is what I came up with:

my first beaded leather wrap bracelet

I do quite like it. I am a little surprised tho how thin/small it is tho. From the pictures on the net I would have thought that they are much bigger and heavier.

I think I’d like one with slightly bigger beads but therefore only one or two wraps. Guess I’ll have to try that out next 🙂

2 responses to “Beaded Leather Wrap Bracelet

  1. The reason some bracelets appear chunkier is because 2mm leather cord is used with 6mm beads. It makes a huge difference.

    Well done on your post.

  2. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have be aware your stuff prior to and you are just extremely fantastic. I actually like what you’ve got right here, certainly like what you are stating and the way wherein you say it. You’re making it entertaining and you continue to care for to keep it wise. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is really a terrific site.

Leave a Reply

